Aleš Hřebeský Memorial 2013 – 20th Anniversary Brings an Extraordinary Event

Homepage / Previous annuals / 2013 / Aleš Hřebeský Memorial 2013 – 20th Anniversary Brings an Extraordinary Event


Aleš Hřebeský Memorial 2013 – 20th Anniversary Brings an Extraordinary Event Jubilee 20th box-lacrosse Aleš Hřebeský Memorial will be held in Radotín on April 24th–27th and it will be truly exceptional event. The organizers responded to big interest from the teams and deciced to enlarge the number of participants from traditional 16 to 24. The teams from 13 countries are expected to meet in Radotín.


The number of teams brings higher demands for the orginisation. The second arena is necessary and 14 games will be played in nearby Černošice (about 6 km from Radotín). Also accommodation capacity in Radotín reached its limits and transportation needs will test the organizers. Anyway we believe that the organizers from LCC Radotín will manage it all and the tournament well known for its great spirit will be enjoyable both for players and spectators again.

So what can the visitors expect this year? First of all a great competition. With only one exception of Rebels who won the tournament in 2002–2004, there will be all tournament champions: Green Gaels (2007, 2010), Megamen Boston (2008, 2009, 2012), Love You to Death (2011), SK Lacrosse Jižní Město (2005, 2006), TJ Malešice (1996) and of course home LCC Radotín (1994, 1995, 1997–2001).

Several newcomers will appear in the arena: for the first time a team from British Columbia will arrive to Radotín – Pioneers, Glasgow Clydesiders from Scotland and French Lille Spartiates are coming for their debut. For the first time an entire Polish team – Eagles – is coming and we expect also a squad from Israel.

Traditional participants will not absent: Nova Scotia Privateers, London Knights, Dublin Riggers, US Team Philadelphia and Bats Bratislava. Tricksters Bratislava, who celebrate their club 10th aniversary are coming after break. Austrians will play under Vienna Monarchs header this year and there will be two teams from Germany: Bundeswehr Lacrosse and Deutschland Adler, who starred in the European Lacrosse League last year. Finland team‘s name will be Silver Birch Leafs this year.

Besides the above mentioned Czech team there will be another three LC Slavia Praha, Old Dogs Plzeň and LCC Wolves.

The playing system will be adapted to the high number of teams. Eight round-robin groups of three will be drawn. The third teams from groups will play for the final 17th to 24th place while the first and second teams will go to the play-off part of the tournament.

The tournament accompanying programme is another tradition. This year there another fun sport event ie beeing prepared for Saturday April 20th and a projection of Vladimír Barák’s film on the World Indoor Lacrosse Championship 2011 is planned on April 23rd evening in Radotín cinema.

The round-robin groups draw will be held on Thursday March 28th at 7 pm CET and you can watch it live at

All tournament games wil be webcasted live and then archived at this site and you can watch them for free. We are happy that Andy McNamara is coming to comment the webcast of the tournament.

All information on the Aleš Hřebeský Memorial will appear soon on this website, also check the tournament FB profile.

If you are a player and want to take part in this extraordinary event you still can – there are teams who are seeking additinal players. Contact Ondřej Mika ( who will get you in touch with team managers.

by Jan Barák and Ondřej Mika

Author: Ondřej Mika   |   Section: 2013   |   Print   |   Send article to friend

RSS channel  |  XML Sitemap  |  Sitemap  |  Content Management System WebRedakce - NETservis s.r.o. © 2023


Všechna práva vyhrazena © 2023 NETservis s.r.o.