About tournament

Homepage / About tournament

The boxlacrosse Aleš Hřebeský Memorial is held by Lacrosse Club Custodes Sokol Radotín to honor its former player who tragically died in the autumn of 1993. Today the Aleš Hřebeský Memorial is the most prestigious box-lacrosse event in Europe with teams from nine countries participating.

Aleš Hřebeský was born on July 1st, 1972 and was among the most gifted LCC players. Moreover, he was a keen ice-hockey player, gymnast, and cycle-ball player. On November 30th, 1993 he died of the injuries caused by a drunk driver who hit Aleš while he waited at a bus stop.

The tournament used to be the traditional opening of the Czech lacrosse season at the end of March. All teams played on a usually muddy field dried with layers of shavings and sawdust.

The 8th tournament in 2001 was breakthrough. Thanks to a generous grant from the Municipality of Prague, and the effort of LCC members, the arena was refurbished and an artificial surface was laid. The Grand Opening was a part of the Aleš Hřebeský Memorial which included a first – teams from abroad (the USA, Germany and even Japan) participated for the first time. It was the first tournament ever in the history of world box lacrosse with participants from more than two countries. The Champion that year was LCC Sokol Radotín. The next year, two American teams participated and a few professional players played on Team Rebel won the tournament in 2002–04. The winner of 2005 and 2006 annual was LC Jižní Město.

In 2007 for the first time a team from the homeland of lacrosse, Canada took part. Green Gaels from Ontario came. Their young team remain unbeaten and gained the trophy. 2007 annual was also a good preparation for the Czech national team before the World Indoor Lacroose Championship held in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada in May 2007. For the first time a lacrosse match was broadcasted on TV in the Czech Republic. Czech TV Sport Channel broadcasted the All Stars Game.

In 2001–2004 the main sponsor – HBA – gave the name to the tournament: HBA Cup. The partner of the 2005 annual Memorial was ICV. JIMI-Dlouhý Ltd. was the general partner of the tournament in 2006 and 2007 annual. S&S vzduchotechnika played this role since 2008.

Record number of 16 teams took part in 2008 annual. Also for the first time the tournament started already on Thursday. Several Rebel players including Bill Curtiss who brought the Rebel team as the first overseas team to the tournament appeared in ambitious Megamen Boston. They won the trophy in the first live TV broadcast from the tournament. Also all matches were available live on the internet at bwin website and you could bet on results there, too. Megamen dominated in 2009 again.

In 2010 an eruption of the Icelandic volcano Eyafjallajökull stopped the air traffic over the Europe at just prior the Memorial and caused that Megamen, Nova Scotia Privateers and US Team could not fly over. Canadian Love You to Death and Green Gaels were lucky to get to Radotín and Green Gaels repeated their victory from 2007. Also other players journey from Ireland and Englad was very adventurous and complicated and the organizers highly appreciated they will to get to Prague for the tournament.

In 2011 the Memorial was the last practice for many players for the World Indoor Lacrosse Championship held in Prague one month later. Jim Veltman, a lacrosse legend, who to Prague as a Czech national team coach, accepted an invitation to play for Love You to Death and lead his team to the champions title, gained in the over-time of a great final against Megamen.

The 20th annual in 2013 hosted a team from Canadian British Columbia for the first time, also French and Israeli lacrosse players took part in combined squad. An entirely Polish team made their debut in the tournament and Scotland was represented as well. Home LCC Radotín celebrated the jubilee tournament with the highers number of teams in history and gained the trophy after 12 years.

In the 21st annual in 2014 there were 20 teams competing, representing 14 nations. For the very first time a native Iroquios team – Kahnawake Rapids – took part in the tournament with several Iroquios national team players in their squad. In very competitive tournament they stayed undefeted and gain the trophy.

The highes possible number of teams – 21 – arrived in 2015. There were three newcomers Regina Heat from Saskatchewan, Canada, and new countries represemted – Sweden and Turkey.Pioneers reached the title in their third visit to Radotín.

The 23rd annual welcomed a new team from Switzerland. Another newcomer – Team Alberta – gained the tournament trophy in the breathtaking final game against home Custodes. Albertans won in the sudden death overtime.

Aleš Hřebeský Memorial Winners

1st annual, 1994 – LCC Radotín
2nd annual, 1995 – LCC Radotín
3rd annual, 1996 – TJ Malešice
4th annual, 1997 – LCC Radotín
5th annual, 1998 – LCC Radotín
6th annual, 1999 – LCC Radotín
7th annual, 2000 – LCC Radotín
8th annual, 2001 – LCC Radotín
9th annual, 2002 – Rebels (USA)
10th annual, 2003 – Rebels (USA)
11th annual, 2004 – Rebels (USA)
12th annual, 2005 – LC Jižní Město
13th annual, 2006 – LC Jižní Město
14th annual, 2007 – Green Gaels (CAN)
15th annual, 2008 – Megamen Boston (USA)
16th annual, 2009 – Megamen Boston (USA)
17th annual, 2010 – Green Gaels (CAN)
18th annual, 2011 – Love You to Death (CAN)
19th annual, 2012 – Megamen Boston (USA)
20th annual, 2013 – LC Custodes Radotín (CZE)
21st annual, 2014 – Kahnawake Rapids (IRO)
22nd annual, 2015 – Pioneers (CAN)
23rd annual, 2016 – Team Alberta (CAN)
24th annual, 2017 – LCC Radotín (CZE)
25th annual, 2018 – Tel Aviv Lacrosse (ISR)

RSS channel  |  XML Sitemap  |  Sitemap  |  Content Management System WebRedakce - NETservis s.r.o. © 2019


Administraci zajišťuje redakční systém společnosti NETservis s.r.o.